All posts in Releases

N-Type & Surge – September Sun EP (Release)

N-Type & Surge - September Sun EP

Wheel & Deal Records boss N-Type has teamed up with his latest signee, Surge, for the label’s latest release, the ‘September Sun’ EP.

Both with similar styles, which is presumably what first made N-Type take notice of Surge, the pair have crafted together an EP made up of four sinister beats, along with an added bonus track if you buy the release either digitally or on vinyl, from the Wheel & Deal Record store, Surus.

The EP begins with the melancholic, but yet haunting, title track ‘September Sun’, featuring Surge’s vocalist Pyxsis, which also comes with an extremely twisted video, produced by the talented Aaron Shrimpton, which you can see below. Next in line is the track ‘Mega-Tron’, which switches between the live guitar sounds of Jonny Baltano and bone-shattering basslines. After these two, the EP then travels down an even darker route than before, with ‘Triangles’, a minimal track with high pitched whines and chilling samples, and finally the aggressive tone of Zombie Apocalypse.

Digital: Juno | iTunes | Boomkat | Surus | Amazon

Vinyl: Juno | Surus | Chemical Records

YouTube Preview Image

Mista Men – UTTU EP (Release)

Mista Men - UTTU EP

Producers Woozee and Mella Dee, known collectively as Mista Men, return yet again with their latest EP, on the London record label Unknown To The Unknown (UTTU).

Despite only containing three tracks, the EP certainly packs a mighty punch, thanks to the euphoric chords and female vocal’s of the opening track ‘Lambrini’, the deep bass and Todd Edwards style vocal chops of ‘Forget You’ and 4×4 sounds of the ‘Hard Drive’ that rounds off the EP. A must have for the UKG fans out there, this one is now available from digitally from the outlets below.

Purchase here: Juno | iTunes | Boomkat | Amazon

Benga ft. Bebe Black – Icon (Release)

Benga ft. Bebe Black - Icon

After recently seeing a fearful looking Benga and Bebe Black getting ready to skydive in their latest video, we now finally see the release to track ‘Icon’, which is the first single taken from Benga’s forthcoming album ‘Chapter 2′, due for release on August 2nd. As well as this track you can also expect a remix from Benga’s last single ‘I Will Never Change’ from Pixel Fist, both of which are now available to buy from the links below.

Purchase here: iTunes | Beatport | Amazon

YouTube Preview Image

Last Japan – East EP (Review)

Last Japan - East EP

London producer Last Japan, aka Marco Guiliani, is back again, this time on Marco Del Horno’s Bullet Train Records, with his latest release, entitled the ‘East EP’.

If you’re familiar with Last Japan, then you’ll already know that his music is far from one dimensional, however if this is the first time you’re listening to him, it won’t take long for you to see this yourself. Inspired by almost every underground bass driven genre to come out of London, his music is a perfect representation of exactly that, combining Grime, Funky and Dubstep, along with UK Garage and hints of Hip Hop into his own unique style.

Starting off with what is possibly the highlight of the EP for us, we’re first introduced to the title track ‘East’, featuring the controversial Grime MC Trim. With a beat that compliments the East London MC’s intricate word play and off beat flow perfectly and a deep droning bass that seems to match the depth of his voice, it’s this what makes this track stand out as our personal favourite of the bunch. After this the EP then moves onto the three remaining tracks, ‘Y.O.U’, which features fellow London producer ‘Avrg Joe’, ‘Hidden’, a hard-hitting 140bpm Jungle track and finally ‘Ragged Man Mode’, featuring vocals from the cockney geeza Red Boy G, which all contribute, in their own way, to the excellence of this release.

Purchase here: Juno | iTunes | Boomkat | Amazon

Dogzilla & Kid D – Legendary EP (Free Download)

Dogzilla & Kid D - Legendary EP

MC and founder of the well known O.T crew, Dogzilla, has made a comeback to Grime and joined forces with the South London producer Kid D, for a six track EP, entitled ‘Legendary’, which is now available for free download.

With fellow crew member Devlin also making an appearance on two of the tracks, the EP is overall a very worthy listen and manages to portray the deeper side of Grime, with the tracks  ’I Spoke To God’, ‘Here Today Gone Tomorrow’, ‘When The Lights Go Down’ and ‘Going Nowhere’, whilst also containing the grittier tracks such as ‘Legendary’ and ‘I’m A Dog’.

Download here: Dogzilla & Kid – Legendary EP (Free Download)