All posts in Articles

Lord Of The Mics 3 Launch Party Review

Lord Of The Mics 3 Launch Party

Earlier this week we saw not one but two launch parties to celebrate the release of the ground breaking Lord Of The Mics 3 DVD, which has had the whole grime scene talking for literally months on end. After attending the first night we felt it right to give you a little run down of the whole event.

The first launch party took place on Monday at The Macbeth in Hoxton and was a private invite only event held for the industry heads, with the second being held last night at Old Blue Last and open for all fans on a first come first serve basis. Of course we would of loved to have made it to both, but due to other commitments was only able to attend the private launch party.

Lord Of The Mics Launch Party

The night started off by showing the first five clashes, from the DVD, with the Diesle vs. Wariko and Lay-Z vs. Mager clash proving popular amongst everyone there. Diesle and Big Narstie then kicked things off by performing a PA of ‘Go Nuts’ which certainly got things warmed up and after that we saw every mc join Jammer onstage for a live performance of the official Lord Of The Mics track. One of the highlights of the night though had to be when Scratchy and Footsie re-lived their legendary clash from the first Lord Of The Mics, a massive shout out to both of them for getting involved and showing everyone that grime is still very much in their hearts.

Lord Of The Mics Launch Party

This night proved to everyone who attended, and hopefully all of you at home after reading this, why grime is still very much alive. We saw a whole load of mc’s bless the mic, at some point throughout the night, including P Money, Chronik, Frisco, Shorty, Stay Fresh, C Gritz, Manga (and loads more) with good vibes throughout and more importantly no beef.

A massive shoutout to everyone who attended (too many names to mention) and a big shoutout to Verena Stefanie, from Kids Of Grime, for these pictures, that fully captured the essence of the event.

Remember the Lord Of The Mics 3 DVD is out now and available to buy from your local HMV store, Amazon, iTunes and many other outlets.

Merky Ace – Catch Up EP Out 12.12.11

Merky Ace - Catch Up EP

Family Tree member Merky Ace is set to release the long awaited ‘Catch Up EP’ on 12.12.11. The South London mc is set to finish off the year with this 10 track release with features from fellow Family Tree members Ego and MIK and productions from Flava D, Faze Miyake, Sukh Knight and more.

Available via iTunes & Amazon on 12/12/2011

Catch the advert below with clips from all the tracks on EP.

YouTube Preview Image


Catch Up (Prod. Faze Miyake)
Everytime (Prod. Flava D)
1 Spliff (Prod. Sukh Knight)
Grime Scene Undertaker (Prod. Flava D)
Think You Know Me (Prod. Relentless)
Aim & Bang (Prod. The Killer Omen)
Lead feat. Ego (Prod. Splurt Diablo)
£200 (Prod. Splurt Diablo)
Easy (Prod. Neon Beats)
War feat. M.I.K (Prod. Splurt Diablo

Dizzee Rascal signs deal with Universal

Dizzee Rascal signs with Universal

Boy In Da Corner mc Dizzee Rascal has just signed a major record deal with Universal Music, after their recent purchase of EMI for a substantial £1.2 billion.

The UK artist, now on the same label as other artists/bands such as Tinie Tempah and Coldplay, will release his fifth album, expected in 2012.

Good news for grime fans as well as it’s been revealed artists on Dizzee’s label Dirtee Stank, such as Newham Generals, will also receive a large financial backing.

Lord Of The Mics 3 Out 11.12.11 Pre-Order Now

Lord Of The Mics 3 Out 11.12.11 When Jammer announced that there was going to be a Lord Of The Mics 3, it become pretty much all the grime scene has talked about for the past 5 months. Since the last DVD was released, we’ve seen an influx of new mc’s in the scene. Now it’s all very well and good turning up to radio, releasing promo’s or mixtapes etc. But we all know that to prove yourself as a true mc in this scene you need to be able to show off your skills in a clash as well and what better platform to do that from than Lord Of The Mics.

This time round Jammer takes it back to his basement, known as the Dungeon, to host the clashes including Diesle vs. Wariko, Sox vs. Kozzie, Tre Mission vs. Jendor and many more.

Today Jammer announced the official release date of the DVD+CD, which will be released digitally on iTunes on 11.12.11, with physical copies being available from Amazon, HMV and more the day after on 12.12.11.

Whatever platform you prefer to buy the DVD from, both are available to pre-order now from the links below.




Disc: 1

1. Be Like Me – D Double E (Produced by True Tiger)

2. No Manners – Layz Ft Skepta (Produced by Preditah)

3. Go Nuts – D.Power Ft Big Nasty (Produced By G.Tank)

4. Not on my Watch – StayFresh (Produced By. Swifta Beater)

5. One Big Move – Blacks & P.Money ft Krept & Konan (Produced by Silencer Teddy Music)

6. Frisco VS Deshane – Frisco(Produced by Frisco)

7. Poison – Tre Mission (Produced by Flava D)

8. Breakdown – Steel Banglez Ft Ghetts, Wiley, Big H & P.Money (Produced By Steel Banglez)

9. It’s Not A Long Ting – JME ft Tempa T (Produced By Mr.V)

10. Ghettos are the same – Tez Kidd (Produced by Nastee Boi)

11. Ana Nutton – Hypes (Produced by Swindle)

12. Motor Way Song – Sox (Produced By Gen)

13. Everytime – Merky Ace (Produced By Flava D)

14. OMG – Jammin ft & Blacks (Produced by G.Tank)

15. Darker Rmx – Fuda Guy, Roachy & Stutta (Produced by Rapid)

16. On the ball – Jammer (Produced by Rickboss)

17. Expensive Talk – Skepta (Produced by Sx)

18. MVP – Footsie ft Jammer (Produced by Footsie)

Disc: 2

1. Jammin VS Clipson

2. Tez Kid VS Hypes

3. Rival VS Desperado

4. Diesel VS Warriko

5. Lay Z VS Marger

6. J1 VS Merky Ace

7. Tre Mission VS Jendor

8. Sox VS

9. Kozzie

10. Extras

11. End Credits

No Lay – Drop Me Out EP (Free Download)

No Lay Drop Me Out

No Lay releases her brand new EP ‘Drop Me Out’ as a thank you to all her loyal supporters, before her album drops in 2012. No Lay, crowned as one of the top female mc’s in the country, proves just why she deserves that title with this 10 track EP of grime and rap including her ‘Gangster’ freestyle, produced by Zdot, and the track ‘Is It So Hard’ featuring Joe Black.

Download here:

No Lay Drop Me Out